The Americans with Disabilities Act

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is the most comprehensive federal civil-rights legislation protecting the rights of people with disabilities. The ADA covers a wide range of disability, from physical conditions affecting mobility, stamina, sight, hearing, and speech to conditions such as mental illness and learning disorders. It addresses access for persons with disabilities in the following areas: employment (Title I); state and local government programs and services (Title II); places of public accommodation (Title III); telecommunications services (Title IV); and miscellaneous instructions to Federal agencies that enforce the law (Title V). Regulations issued under the different titles by various Federal agencies set requirements and establish enforcement procedures. To understand and comply with the ADA, it is important to follow the appropriate regulations.


Historical perspective on the ADA

Overview of the Titles of ADA

ADA information link

Technical Assistance

Department of Justice ADA web site

At a minimum, this web site meets Section 508 and at least Level A Conformance to WCAG 1.0. On January 18, 2017, the U.S. Access Board published a final rule as the new standard for website accessibility. The rule requires adherence to the new accessibility standards twelve months from its date of publication. CBS is working towards WCAG 2.0 Level AA compliance.

The goals of the CBS's accessibility plan are:

  • All new content posted on this website after January 18, 2018, will meet W3C’s WCAG 2.0 Level AA compliance.
  • All content posted prior to January 18, 2018, will be remediated to meet W3C’s WCAG 2.0 Level AA compliance as soon as possible
This File Was Last Modified: Wednesday August 12 2009