Deaf and Hard of Hearing

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATION SERVICES
Rehabilitation Counselors and Staff Working with Persons who are Deaf & Hard of Hearing
(800) 552-5019 (V) OR (800) 464-9950 (TTY)
(all offices can be reached by agency toll free numbers)


Mary Nunnally
State Coordinator, Services to Individuals who are Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Administrative Office (Richmond)
(804) 322-3456 V / (804) 433-3277 VP
Mary.Nunnally@dars.virginia.gov
Virginia - Statewide

Dinah Scharfenberg
Rehabilitation Counselor for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing
Abingdon Office
(276) 676-5565 V / (276) 206-2143 VP
Dinah.Scharfenberg@dars.virginia.gov
Cities - Bristol, Galax, Norton, Radford
Counties - Bland, Buchanan, Carroll, Dickenson, Floyd, Giles, Grayson, Lee, Montgomery, Pulaski, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, Wythe

Christine Ross
Rehabilitation Counselor for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing
Lynchburg Office
(434) 947-6721 V/TTY / (434) 473-6670 VP
Christine.Ross@dars.virginia.gov
Cities - Buchanan (town), Covington, Lynchburg, Roanoke, Salem, Vinton
Counties - Alleghany, Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford, Botetourt, Campbell, Craig, Franklin, Henry, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Roanoke

Julie Saum
Rehabilitation Counselor for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing
Fishersville Office
(540) 332-7700 V/TTY
Julie.Saum@dars.virginia.gov
Cities - Buena Vista, Lexington, Harrisonburg, Staunton, Waynesboro,
Counties - Augusta, Bath, Highland, Page, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Shenandoah

Pearl Johnson
Rehabilitation Counselor for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing
Fairfax Office
(703) 359-1124 V / (703) 359-1126 TTY
Pearl.Johnson@dars.virginia.gov
Cities - Alexandria, Arlington, Fairfax
Counties – Fairfax (Annandale, Burke, Centreville, Chantilly, Clifton, Dunn Loring, Fairfax Station, Falls Church, Fort Belvoir, Great Falls, Herndon, Lorton, Loudon, McLean, Merrifield, Mount Vernon, Newington, Oak Hill, Oakton, Reston, Springfield, Vienna)

Theresa Light
Rehabilitation Counselor for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing
Manassas Office
(866) 842-8426 V/TTY (toll free)
Theresa.Light@dars.virginia.gov
Cities - Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, Winchester
Counties - Clarke, Fauquier, Frederick, King George, Northern Caroline, Prince William, Rappahannock, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Warren

Karla Lesher
Rehabilitation Counselor for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing
Fishersville Office
(434) 996-8606 V / (540) 332-7700 V/TTY
Karla.Lesher@dars.virginia.gov
Cities - CHarlottesville
Counties - Albemarle, Amelia, Buckingham, Charlotte, Culpeper, Cumberland, Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, Lunenburg, Madison, Nelson, Nottoway, Orange, Prince Edward

Traci Branch
Rehabilitation Counselor for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing
Henrico Office
(804) 641-3574 V / (804) 325-1323 VP
Traci.Branch@dars.virginia.gov
Cities - Colonial Heights, Petersburg, Richmond, Hopewell, Warsaw
Counties - Charles City, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, New Kent, Powhatan, Prince George, Sussex, King William, Mathews, Westmoreland, Essex, Northumberland

Sheri Shimada
Rehabilitation Counselor for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing
Hampton Office
(757) 865-4863 V / (757) 506-0035 VP
Sheri.Shimada@dars.virginia.gov
Cities - Hampton, Newport News, Poquoson, Warsaw, Williamsburg
Counties - Gloucester, Isle of Wright, James City, King & Queen, Richmond County, Surry, York

Kristy Pomerleau
Rehabilitation Counselor for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing
Portsmouth Office
(757) 686-5004 V/TTY
Kristy.Pomerleau@dars.virginia.gov
Cities - Chesapeake, Franklin, Portsmouth, Suffolk, VA Beach
Counties - Accomack, Norfolk, Northhampton, Southampton

Tara Handy
Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services Unit
Wilson Workforce and Rehabilitation Center (Fishersville)
(800) 811-7893 V/TTY / (540) 332-7239 V/TTY / (540) 416-0111 VP
Tara.Handy@wwrc.virginia.gov
All consumers who are deaf and hard of hearing attending WWRC

At a minimum, this web site meets Section 508 and at least Level A Conformance to WCAG 1.0. On January 18, 2017, the U.S. Access Board published a final rule as the new standard for website accessibility. The rule requires adherence to the new accessibility standards twelve months from its date of publication. ESSP is working towards WCAG 2.0 Level AA compliance.

The goals of the ESSP's accessibility plan are:

This File Was Last Modified: Thursday January 05 2017